Kazakh state philharmonic. Zhambyl is the cultural center of Almaty and Kazakhstan for many years . This is confirmed by the big interest of citizens and visitors of Almaty to philharmonic’s activities and concerts. Members of the Philharmonic do big work for attract and educate listeners with high musical classical art and folk art, and  promote music as foreign composers and composers of Kazakhstan.

Kazakh State Philharmonic was organized by the decision of the Council of People’s Commissars of the Kazakh SSR on January 14, 1935. New concert organization was named by  Zhambyl Zhabayev – inspirator of many works of Kazakh music and poetry, and recognized as “Homer of the 20th century.”

First Philharmonic Orchestra joined by Kazakh national instruments orchestra, Kazakh choir, dance group and a large group of soloists – singers and instrumentalists. Among them was a Distinguished Artist of the Republic Dina Nurpeisova. And soon in concert Philharmonic sounded masterpieces of vocal lyrics, Kazakh and Russian folk songs performed by Kuliash Baiseitova, received the title of Distinguished Artist of the USSR in 24 years as one of the most prominent Kazakh singer, who has known and loved in many neighbour republics.

The first artistic director of the Philharmonic was Ahmet Zhubanov – an outstanding scientist, composer, author of many works of Kazakh music and interesting books about folk Kazakh music “Strings of centuries”, “Nightingales of centuries.”

The names of those who led after A.Zhubanov the Philharmonic, also entered the history of the Kazakh musical art: E.Brusilovsky, B. Baikadamov, S. Mukhamedzhanov, E. Rakhmadiyev, Amangeldy B., T. Ibraev Dautbaev A., T. Alpiev , M. Uteuov, Urazgaliev K., A. Sultangaliyev, S. Bulhairov.

Currently,  Philharmonic has such world-famous bands and collectives as the State Academic Symphony Orchestra, Academic folkl-ethnographic Orchestra “Otyrar sazy” named after N. Tlendiev, State Symphonic Band, State Choir named after B.Baykadamov, State String Quartet named after G. Zhubanova, Quintet of woodwind instruments.

Philharmonic has also distinguished soloits who makes concerts great – People’s Artist Nurgali Nusipzhan, Honored Artist of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Cavalier of the Order “Kurmet” Gabit Nesipbaev, talented soloists Honored artist Aida Ayupova, Nurken Ashirov, Zhanar Suleimenova, Ermek Kurmanaev, Amir Bisengaliyev, Daniyar Esimhanov and etc.

Казахская государственная филармония им. Жамбыла в течение многих лет является культурным центром города Алматы и Республики Казахстан. Это подтверждается неизменным интересом жителей и гостей города к ее деятельности и концертным программам. Творческие коллективы филармонии, со своей стороны, стремятся к выполнению основных задач по формированию духовных потребностей слушателей на основе высокого музыкального классического искусства и народного творчества, пропагандируя музыку, как зарубежных композиторов, так и композиторов Казахстана.

14 января 1935 года постановлением Совета Народных Комиссаров КазССР была организована Казахская государственная филармония им. Жамбыла Жабаева – вдохновителя многих произведений Казахской музыки и поэзии,признанным «Гомером 20-го века».

Вначале филармония объединила оркестр казахских национальных инструментов, казахский хор, танцевальный ансамбль и большую группу солистов – певцов и инструменталистов. В их числе была народная артистка республики Дина Нурпеисова. А вскоре на концертной эстраде филармонии зазвучали шедевры вокальной лирики, казахские и русские народные песни в исполнении Куляш Байсеитовой, в 24 года получившая звание народной артистки Союза ССР как одна из наиболее выдающихся казахских певиц, которую в 30-е годы уже знали и любили во многих братских республиках.

Первым художественным руководителем филармонии был Ахмет Жубанов – выдающийся ученый, композитор, автор многих созданных впоследствии произведений казахской музыки и интереснейших книг о народной казахской музыке «Струны столетий», «Соловьи  столетий».

Имена тех, кто после А. Жубанова руководили филармонией, тоже вошли в историю казахского музыкального искусства: Е.Брусиловский, Б. Байкадамов, С. Мухамеджанов, Е. Рахмадиев, Б. Амангельдиев, Т. Ибраев, А. Даутбаев, Т. Альпиев, М. Утеуов, К. Уразгалиев, А. Султангалиев, С. Булхаиров.

В настоящее время в составе филармонии такие известные всему миру коллективы как государственный Академический симфонический оркестр, Академический фольклорно-этнографический оркестр «Отырар сазы» им. Н. Тлендиева, государственный духовой оркестр, государственная хоровая капелла им. Б.Байкадамова, государственный струнный квартет им. Г. Жубановой, Квинтет деревянных духовых инструментов.

Постоянно украшают концерты филармонии и выступления её замечательных солистов – народного артиста Нургали Нусипжан, Заслуженного артиста Республики Казахстан, кавалера ордена «Құрмет» Габита Несипбаева, талантливых солистов Заслуженный деятель РК Аиды Аюповой, Нуркена Аширова, Жанар Сулейменовой, Ермека Курманаева, Амира Бисенгалиева, Данияра Есимханова и др.